top of page

Civil Monetary Penalty Reinvestment Program

Game of Chess

North Carolina is a part of CMS Region IV, which covers Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. 


There are 10 CMS Regional offices in the U.S.  For more information visit the CMS website 

A CMP is a monetary penalty the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) may impose against nursing homes for either the number of days or for each instance a nursing home is not in substantial compliance with one or more Medicare and Medicaid participation requirements for long-term care facilities. A portion of CMPs collected from nursing homes are returned to the states in which CMPs are imposed. State CMP funds may be reinvested to support activities that benefit nursing home residents and that protect or improve their quality of care or quality of life.

What CMP Funds Can Be Used For

CMP funds may be used for (but not limited to) the following:

  • Assistance to support and protect residents of a facility that closes or is decertified

  • Time-limited expenses incurred in the process of relocating residents to home and community-based settings or another facility when a facility is closed or downsized pursuant to an agreement with the state Medicaid agency

  • Projects that support resident and family councils and other consumer involvement in assuring quality care in facilities

  • Facility improvement initiatives, such as joint training of facility staff and surveyors, or technical assistance for facilities implementing quality assurance and performance improvement programs.

Information obtain directly from the CMS website at Civil Money Penalty Reinvestment Program | CMS

bottom of page